A Beautiful story of Abu Al-Aas ibn Al-Rabia and his wife Zainab bint Muhammed (RA).

As sala’amu alaikum

Most surly every story about Rasulullah (SAW) and His Beloved family touches the heart and soul of every Muslim, the struggles, pain and hardships they had endured for us to be Muslims today, is so much and we should be ever grateful to them.

The daughters of our beloved Rasulullah (SAW) were indeed special to him, May every Muslim Husband, Father, Brother and Uncle learn from Him.

Today I would like to share with you the story of the daughter Zainab and her husband Abu Al-Aas ibn Al-Rabia, a daughter whom I feel really close to, as I know the separation between  husband and wife, for however long or short the time, is extremely painful.

Please do remember the Ummah and I in your duas.

Walaikum as salaam

بنت محمد ،

bint Muhammed.

Ps.. please feel free to correct me if I have made any mistakes

A Beautiful story of Abu Al-Aas ibn Al-Rabia and his wife Zainab bint Muhammed (RA).

Abu al-Aas ibn Al-Rabia, his maternal aunt was Khadijah bint Khuwaylid, the wife of Muhammad. He came Rasulullah (SAW) before Islam and asked him “I would like to marry Zainab your daughter” Rasulullah (SAW) said “I can’t give you an answer until I ask her” Rasulullah (SAW) asked her “Your cousin Abu al-Aas has come to me and he mentioned your name would you accept him as a husband?.” Her face became red and she smiled, Rasulullah (SAW) got back to Abu al-Aas.  Zainab got married to Abu al-Aas. And after that she got blessed with two children Ali and Umamah. And they lived a very happy romantic life until the Divine light of Islam radiated over Makah. Rasulullah (SAW) the father of Zainab, was now the Prophet of Allah, sent to convey the religion of guidance and truth. So Zainab accepted Islam while her husband was away traveling. When he came back he heard the rumors that his wife has embraced this new religion. When he entered his house, Zainab hurried to him and said “I have great news for you”, he stood up and moved away from her. She went after him and told him what happened and that she embraced Islam. He said “Shouldn’t you have told me first”. She said “I was not going to disbelieve in my father when his known to be the truthful. And I am not alone, my mother your aunt became Muslim, and my sisters, my uncle Ali Ibn Talib, and the son of your aunt Uthman Ibn Affan, and your friend Abu baker”. He said “But not me. I don’t want the people to say I have betrayed my people and I have disbelieved in what my father’s believed in to please my wife. So would you make allowances for me and show some recognition”. She said “If I’m not the one who makes allowances than, who is? I am your wife and I will support you on the truth until you can see it through”. 20 years she was patient with him. At that time the law forbidding the marriage of a Muslim woman to a non believing man was not yet in force.
After that it was the Hijrah (migration) from Makah to Medina. Zainab who loved her husband asked her father Rasulullah (SAW) if she could stay with her husband so Rasulullah (SAW) told her you stay with your husband and children. Then the battle of Badr came and Abu Al-Aas decided that he would go and fight with Quraish. Her husband is going to fight her beloved father. But she had hope. He did not really have the desire to fight the Muslims nor did he feel any inclination to join them. But his position among the Quraish- one of honour and trust impelled him to go along with their campaign against Muhammad. The battle of Badr ended with terrible defeat for Quraish. Some were killed, some were taken prisoner and some managed to escape. Among those, who were taken prisoner was Abu-al Aas, the husband of Zainab. After the battle was over and Quraish was coming back to Makah, Zainab asked “What happened to my father?” They said ‘‘He won’’. So she bowed down thanking Allah. And then she asked “What happen to my husband?” they said ‘‘His father-in-law took him as a prisoner”. Rasulullah (SAW) fixed amounts for the ransom of the prisoners of war varying from one thousand to four thousand Dirham’s, according to the wealth and social standing of the prisoner. Quraish messengers went to Medina bearing the ransom money to free their relatives held in Medina. Zainab sent her messenger to Medina bearing the ransom to free her husband which was a necklace, her mother Khadijah gave her before she died. The only thing she had to free her beloved husband. When Rasulullah (SAW) saw the necklace he cried (Allah Akbar) and he said “This is the necklace of Khadijah.” Rasulullah (SAW) felt a surge of tenderness for his daughter. He turned to his companions and said: “This man we haven’t seen any bad from him. By Allah I haven’t seen from him as a son in law anything but good. Zainab has sent this amount to ransom Abu-al Aas. If you see fit to set free her prisoner and return her possession to her, then do so”. “Yes” his companions agreed. “We shall do whatever we can to soothe your eyes and make you happy.” So they released Abu al-Aas and Rasulullah (SAW) gave him the necklace and said “Tell Zainab not to neglect Khadijah’s necklace”   then Rasulullah (SAW) said “Islam ordered me to separate the Muslim woman from her non believing husband so if you can kindly return my daughter back to me”. As Abu al-Aas entered Makah, his loving wife came out to meet him and welcome him. He said to her: “I am leaving”. She said “To where?” He said: “I am not the one who is going to leave but you are. You’re going back to your father”. She asked “Why?” He said “Your religion ordered for the separation between you and me so go back to your father”. She said “Would you kindly be my companion and become Muslim?” He said “No”. So she took her children and left to Medina. People were coming to her to ask her for marriage but she refused. She had love for Abu al-Aas and faith in Allah. After the departure of his wife, Abu-al Aas remained in Makah for several years. Then shortly before the Conquest of Mecca, he left for Syria on a trading engagement. As the caravan approached Medina, a detachment of Muslims took them by surprise. They impounded the camels and took the men as captives to Rasulullah (SAW). Abu-al Aas however managed to escape. During the night which was pitch black, Abu-al Aas entered Medina fearful and alert. He asked for the house of Zainab. He knocked on the door just before Fajr time. She asked “Who is it?”, “Abu al-Aas” he replied, Zainab asked “Did you come as a Muslim?”  “No as a fugitive” He replied and he told her the story. She said “Would you become Muslim?” He said “No”. She said “Don’t worry and welcome to the son of my aunt and the father of my children”.
At dawn Rasulullah (SAW), came out to the Masjid to perform the Fajr Prayer. He stood up and said “Allahu Akbar” to begin the Prayer. The Muslims behind him did the same. At that point Zainab shouted from the women’s section of the Masjid:
“O people! I am Zainab the daughter of Muhammed. I have given protection to Abu al-Aas”.  When the Prayer was finished, Rasulullah (SAW) turned to the congregation and said: “Have you heard what I heard?” “Yes, Messenger of Allah” They replied.
“By Him in whose hand is my soul, I knew nothing of this until I heard what you heard.” He then said “This man we haven’t seen any bad from him. By Allah I haven’t seen from him anything but good he has proved truthful in whatever he said to me. No doubt, Zainab is a part of me,” and he said ‘’we have given protection to whom you have given protection.” “You have taken the possessions of this man. If you are kind to him and return his property, we would be pleased. If however you do not agree then the goods is booty sanctioned by Allah which you have a right to.”
“We would certainly return his possessions to him, Messenger of Allah” they replied Rasulullah (SAW) said to his daughter: “Prepare a place of rest for Abu-al Aas and let him know that you are not lawful for him”. As Abu-al Aas collect his money and goods, Zainab said to him “Don’t you miss us? Would you embrace Islam and stay with us?”. He said “No”… He took his goods and money and left to Makkah. As soon as Abu-al Aas returned to Makah with the caravan, he handed over all the wealth and goods to their rightful owners. Then he asked: “O people of Quraish! Is there any money left with me belonging to any one of you which he has not taken?” “No.” they reply. “And may God bless you with goodness. We have indeed found you noble and trustworthy.”
Then Abu-al Aas announced: “Since I have now handed over to you what is rightfully yours, I now declare that there is no god but Allah and that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah. By Allah, the only thing that prevented me from declaring my acceptance of Islam while I was with Muhammad in Medina was my fear that you would think that I did so only to appropriate your wealth. Now that I have discharged my trust in this matter, I now declare that I am a Muslim”
Then he rushed to Medina to reach it for Fajr prayer and after the prayer he came to Rasulullah (SAW) and said “You have protected me yesterday and today I am here to accept Islam.” “Allahu Akbar” everyone one in the Masjid shouted. Abu al-Aas then asked Rasulullah (SAW) “Would you give me permission to get back with Zainab?” … Rasulullah (SAW) took him and said “Come with me” and he stood outside Zainab’s house and knocked on the door and then told Zainab “The son of your aunt came to me today asking my permission to get back with you, would you accept him?” Her face became red and she smiled. A year later Zainab died. The narrator said Abu al-Aas cried so much until we saw Rasulullah (SAW) wipe his tears calming him down and told him have patience. Abu al-Aas said I can’t stand living without Zainab. He died a year later. Allahu Akbar this is love, patience, faith in Allah.

9 comments on “A Beautiful story of Abu Al-Aas ibn Al-Rabia and his wife Zainab bint Muhammed (RA).

  1. sajid v m says:

    Jazakallah fiddarain

  2. sally says:

    I have read this story over and over again… some1 on wordpress reblogged it as well.. I keep coming back to read it on your blog, I love your introduction and the way you lay the story out… May Allah keep blessing you and fill your life with all the good in this and the next world, Aameen.

  3. Alhamdolillah says:

    SubhanAllah, what a love!!

    May Allah Accept your duas, ameen, May allah put love and respect in you and your husbands hearts for each other and create a loving relationship between you two, ameen.

    JazakAllah for the wonderfl post.

    • muslimah says:

      As sala’mu alaikum Sister
      Aameen Thuma Ameen.May Allah accept the duas of those who bow their hearts, minds, souls and bodies in submission to Allah.Aameen thuma Aameen.
      Please do remember the ummah and I in your duas.
      Walaikum as Salam
      بنت محمد
      “O’Allah do not call me to account for what they say,and forgive them for what they have no knowledge of, and make me better then they imagine.Aameen Thuma Aameen”

  4. A wife who salutes you says:

    Sister Muslimah,
    Everyday brings anticipation to me, my daughters, my friends and i’m sure many others as well, on what good you are to share. Reading this story has brought tears to my eyes, and what I have to say, i’m sure many have told you, you are a lady to admire, (i certainly would not have the patience you have to wait) I pray that Allah opens your husbands mind to reunite with you soon,amen.
    Waslm

    • muslimah says:

      As sala’mu alaikum Sister
      Jazakumullah for your words of encouragement and dua.May Allah accept and reward you.Aameen.
      On a light note on patience. “Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish”
      Walaikum as Salam
      بنت محمد
      “O’Allah do not call me to account for what they say,and forgive them for what they have no knowledge of, and make me better then they imagine.Aameen Thuma Aameen”

  5. S.Shaikh says:

    assalam waalaikum
    this is a great story mashaallah .thank you for sharin it with us ..may ALLAH bless u with happiness n respect in akhirat n this life.AMEEN

    • muslimah says:

      As sala’mu alaikum
      Jazakumullah for the dua, it is very much needed. May Allah Bless you and the Ummah at large with that which is good and keep that which is evil away.
      Walaikum as Salam
      بنت محمد ، وزوجة مولانا محمد شعيبمحتار
      “O’Allah do not call me to account for what they say,and forgive me for what they have no knowledge me, and make me better then they imagine.Aameen Thuma Aameen”

  6. Sa'ad says:

    Muslimah,With the grace,and mercy of Allah, I hope that your husband reads your post, and truly appreciatte the lady Allah has chosen as his life partner, my wife and daughters,everyday wait for the wonderful inspiration that you share. May Allah above hear your duas, and accept them.
    Sa’ad

Leave a comment