Duas For Increasing The Memory

Duas For Increasing The Memory

Place your right hand on your forehead after every Fardh Salaat and recite, ‘Yaa Qawiyyu’ 11 times.

  اللَّهُم¡ اِنِّى اَسْئَلُكَ عِلْمًا نَجِيْحًا

Transliteration: Allahumma inni as’aluka ‘ilman-naaji’han

 “O Allah! I ask You for useful Knowledge”

سُبْحَانَكَ لَا عِلْمَ لَنَا إِلَّا مَا عَلَّمْتَنَا ۖ إِنَّكَ أَنْتَ الْعَلِيمُ الْحَكِيمُ

Transliteration: Subhanaka la ‘ilma lana ‘illa ma ‘allamtana ‘innaka ‘antal-’Alimul Hakim

“Glory be to you, we have no knowledge except what you have taught us. Verily, it is You, the All-Knower, the All-Wise” (Surah Baqarah; 2:32)

رَبِّ زدْنيِ عِلْماً وَ رْزُقْنيِ فَهْماً

Transliteration: Rabbi zidni ‘ilman war zuqni fahmaa

“O’Allah! Advance me in Knowledge and true understanding”

يَا عَلِيمُ عَلِّمْنِىْ 

Transliteration: Ya Alimu, alimni

“O’All-Knowing, grant me knowledge”

رَّبِّ زِدْنِى عِلْمًا

Transliteration: Rabbi zidni ilma

“O’My Lord! Advance me in Knowledge” (Surah Ta-Ha; 20:114)

From the book “The Medicine of The Prophet (SAW)” ` it is quoted that Rasulullah (SAW) as saying: Cupping increases one’s memory and wisdom. Apply cupping in the Name of Allah, but do not apply it on Thursday, Friday, Saturday or Sunday, while Monday is the best…..It also mentions that brushing one’s teeth with a miswaak sharpens the memory!

16 comments on “Duas For Increasing The Memory

  1. Abubakar as_sidiq says:

    Oh allah grant us knowledge of this world and of the hereafter let us .walk on the right the path u have bestowed ur grace. Ameeeeeeeeee n ya Allah.

  2. Dr. Iftikhar Halimzai says:

    without any doubt it is real to increase memory by reciting dwa.

  3. khalid says:

    assalamuralaikum jazakaAllah for this dua

  4. ruby says:

    i cannot concentrate on my studies,i pick things easily but due to lack of concentration and memorization i cannot retain, examination hall i feel pessimistic about my paper.the voice comes inside from me that i wont be able to attempt it,feel restless..pls do refer some duas and timings how shall i recite it thanks

  5. ibrahimovic says:

    salam,i am very interesting ur article n Allah wil bessing ur increasing ur knowledge. I am a executive of library for Association Deaf Muslim of Nigerian. What does in cupping meaning? Plz plz plz help me.

    • muslimah says:

      As sala’amu alaikum
      Cupping (hijama) is the best remedy recommended and used by Rasulullah (SAW). Rasulullah (SAW) said, “Indeed the best of remedies you have is cupping (hijama)…” (Sahih AL-Bukharie). Rasulullah (SAW) also said that on the night of Israa (his ascension to the heavens) he did not pass by an angel except that it said to him, “Oh Muhammad, order your Ummah (nation) with cupping (hijama).” [Sahih Sunan Tirmidhe (3479)]. This shows the importance and greatness of this Sunnah.

      ‘Hijama’ in arabic is derived from ‘hajm’ which means ‘sucking’. Cupping (hijama) is the process of applying cups to various points on the body by removing the air inside the cups to form a vacuum.
      Walaikum as salaam
      “O Allah, make my love for You the most beloved thing to me, and Your displeasure with me the most fearful thing to me, and instill in me a passion for meeting You; when you have given the people of the world the pleasures of their world, make the coolness of my eyes (pleasure) in worshipping You. Aameen Thuma Aameen

  6. Bilal Nazir says:

    Allhamulillah

  7. Abdulkhaliq says:

    jazakullahu khair

  8. Temoor says:

    what does cupping mean???

  9. aminaremmy says:

    Shukran Jazaka Allaah am happy to read any Islamic material from this website as it educates us who never got the chance to learn fully during childhood due to parents migrating from one town to another, but Alhamdhulillahi we are learning everyday new things and putting in practice as a good muslim

  10. Mansur says:

    Assalamu Alaykum Wa Rahmatulahi Wa Barakatuhu,

    Jazakullahu khair for this. I was wondering where you got this from? Modified not to create misunderstanding or to offend anyone Can you tell me of reliable website which has duas and adkhars like this? Thank you very much.

    • muslimah says:

      As sala’amu alaikum
      While the internet is a wonderful source to gather information and to learn, I still prefer reading. I will share with you some books that I hope would help you.
      1) Tas-heelud Du’aa
      2) Kitaab-ud-Dua
      3) Remedies From The Holy Quraan
      4) Al-Hisnul Hasan
      Web site’s link that is beneficial
      http://www.alameenlibrary.com/links.html
      http://www.edars.com/
      Should any reader know of any good authentic websites (Sunni), please do let us know.
      Walaikum as Salaam
      “O Allah, make my love for You the most beloved thing to me, and Your displeasure with me the most fearful thing to me, and instill in me a passion for meeting You; when you have given the people of the world the pleasures of their world, make the coolness of my eyes (pleasure) in worshipping You. Aameen Thuma Aameen”

      • Anon says:

        Salam. Do you know Arabic well enough to translate some Arabic text I have?

        • muslimah says:

          As sala’amu alaikum
          I know Arabic, but not well enough to do translation for someone else.
          Walaikum as salaam
          “O Allah, make my love for You the most beloved thing to me, and Your displeasure with me the most fearful thing to me, and instill in me a passion for meeting You; when you have given the people of the world the pleasures of their world, make the coolness of my eyes (pleasure) in worshipping You. Aameen Thuma Aameen

Leave a Reply

