A Story With A Moral… Children And Their Observations.

A Story With A Moral… Children And Their Observations.

Umar ibn Abdul Aziz had been entrusted with the position of been the Caliph of the Muslims, after his appointment, he arrived at his home for a brief rest, as he was about to lie down, his son, Abdul Malik, approached him and asked: “O Amirul-Mu’minin, what are doing?”  Umar ibn Abdul Aziz replied: “My son, I would like to take a midday nap for a short while.” The son asked: “How can you take a nap when you have not yet corrected the injustice of the past?” Umar ibn Abdul Aziz replied: “My son, I have not had any sleep since yesterday, due to my involvement in the matters of your uncle Suliman. Once I have performed Zuhr Salaah, I will attend to those injustices.” The son asked: “Who can guarantee that you will live until Zuhr Salaah?”

Umar ibn Abdul Aziz said: “Come to me, my son!”

When his son drew close to him, he embraced him, kissed him on his forehead and said: “Praise be to Allah who has brought forth a person in my progeny who assist’s me in my religious duties.”

Umar ibn Abdul Aziz did not sleep, but went out and had an announcement made for all those who had been wrong in any way to bring their disputes to him.

Moral: Observation and remarks of children should never be shrugged off, very often their innocence and sincerity expose the truth.

Leave a Reply

