Remembrance of Allah Softens The Heart

Remembrance of Allah Softens The Heart

1) Abu Hurairah (RA) reported: Rasulullah (SAW) said: “Allah, the Exalted and Glorious, stated: “I am near to the thought of My servant as he thinks about Me, and I am with him as he remembers Me. And if he remembers Me in his heart, I also remember him in My Heart, and if he remembers Me in assembly I remember him in assembly, better than his (remembrance) And if he draws near Me by the span of a palm, I draw near him by a cubit, and if he draws near Me by a cubit I draw near him   by the space (covered by) two arms. And if he walks towards Me, I rush towards him.'” (Muslim)
2) Jabir reported that Rasulullah (SAW) said, “Whoever recites the words, Glory be to Allah and His is the praise, will have a palm tree planted for him in the Garden.”
3) Ibn Mas’ood (RA), said, “To Praise Allah, may He be Exalted, is more dear to me than spending the same number of dinars (as the number of times I praise Him) in the way of Allah.” Remembrance of Allah is a remedy for hard hearts.
4) A man once told al-Hassan, “O Abu Sa’id, I complain to you about the hardness of my heart.” He said, “Soften it with the remembrance of Allah.”
5) Makhul said, “Remembrance of Allah is (a sign of) health, while remembrance of people is like a disease.”
6) A man once asked Salman (RA) “Which deeds are the best?” He said, “Haven’t you read in the Qur’an:

اتْلُ مَا أُوحِيَ إِلَيْكَ مِنَ الْكِتَابِ وَأَقِمِ الصَّلَاةَ ۖ إِنَّ الصَّلَاةَ تَنْهَىٰ عَنِ الْفَحْشَاءِ وَالْمُنْكَرِ ۗ وَلَذِكْرُ اللَّهِ أَكْبَرُ ۗ وَاللَّهُ يَعْلَمُ مَا تَصْنَعُونَ

Recite what is sent of the Book by inspiration to thee, and establish regular Prayer: for Prayer restrains from shameful and unjust deeds; and remembrance of Allah is the greatest (thing in life) without doubt. And Allah knows the (deeds) that ye do.” (Surah Ankaboot 29:45)
7) Abu Musa once related that Rasulullah (SAW) said, “The difference between the one who remembers his Lord and the one who does not is like the difference between the living and the dead.”
8) Abdullah ibn Busr related that a man once told Rasulullah (SAW) “The roads to good are many and I am unable to take all of them, so please tell me something to which I can hold fast, but do not overburden me lest I forget it.” Rasulullah (SAW) said, “Make sure that your tongue is moist and supple with the remembrance of Allah, the Exalted.”
9) Abu Hurairah (RA), reported: Rasulullah (SAW) said: Two are the expressions which are light on the tongue, but heavy in scale, dear to the Compassionate One: “Glory be to Allah and praise is due to Him, Glorified be Allah, The Great.” (Muslim)

10) Ibn Taimiyyah wrote, “Remembrance of Allah is to the heart what water is to fish. What happens to a fish when it is taken out of water?”
11) Imam ibn al-Qayyim wrote: “Remembrance of Allah is sustenance for both the heart and the spirit. If the servant is deprived of it he becomes like a body which has been deprived of food.”

 

Leave a Reply

